Three Passes Trek

The three passes trek is the ultimate Everest circuit, it rises from Lukla to Chhukung, crossing the 5535m Kongma La to Lobuche and Everest Base Camp, continuing over the 5420m Cho La to Gokyo, then crossing the 5345m Renjo La to Thame and Namche Bazaar. Only for the truly adventurous. Plan for about 20 days, the maximum elevation is 5535m, the best season for the trek October–November & March–May. Start/Finish is in Lukla. Permits: TIMS card, Sagarmatha National Park permit that you get both in Lukla/Monjo.

The table below shows my itinerary. This are trekking times only; stops are not included. I was aiming for a slow acclimatization, side trips for that purpose in Namche, Dingboche and Chhukung before doing the first pass. From day 7 to 14 I was always above 4700m and spent another day in Namche to be at the right time in Lukla for my flight back to Kathmandu.

DaySection Hoursheight
1 Lukla to Cheplung 1:152850m
Cheplung to Phakding 1:452640m
Phakding to Benkar 1:30
Benkar to Monjo 1:00
2 Monjo to Namche Bazaar 3:003450m
3 Roundtrip Khumjung 3900m
4 Namche Bazaar to Sanasa 1:00
Sanasa to Phunki Thenga 1:30
Phunki Thenga to Tengboche 1:30
Tengboche to Deboche 0:304000m
5 Deboche to Orsho 0:45
Orsho to Dingboche 1:00
6 Nangkar Tshang 5083m
7 Dingboche to Chhukung 2:304750m
8 Chhukung Ri 5550m
9 Chhukung to Kongma La 3:305530m
Kongma La to Lobuche 3:004910m
10 Lobuche to Gorak Shep 2:305140m
Kala Pattar 3:005550m
Gorak Shep to Lobuche 2:305140m
11 Lobuche to Dzonglha 3:004830m
12 Dzonglha to Cho La 3:005420m
Cho La to Dragnag 3:004790m
13 Dragnag to Gokyo 2:004790m
14 Gokyo Ri 5360m
15 Gokyo to Renjo La 3:005417m
Renjo La to Lumde/Marulung 3:004210m
16 Lumde/Marulung to Thame 2:303820m
Thame to Namche Bazaar 3:003450m
17 Namche Bazaar 3450m
18 Namche Bazaar to Monjo 3:00
Monjo to Benkar 1:00
Benkar to Phakding 1:30
19 Phakding to Cheplung 1:15
Cheplung to Lukla 1:152850m


Three Passes, three parts of the story...